Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Weird, or Normal Programming Error?

Status
Not open for further replies.

adamthole

I am very new to PIC controllers. I am currently using a pic16f628 with a pg2c programmer and ICProg as my programmer. When I program in circuit with only my 20 MHz crystal installed and one LED (with resistor of course) it will not re-program the chip. However, if I take the crystal out of the circuit it will program with no problem. Is this normal behavior or am I doing something wrong? Any clue where? One thing that may or may not be a culprit is that I am not using any caps on the crystal. I ordered 20pF caps for it, but I wasnt paying close enough attention and actually ordered the 0201 smd package instead of the usual. Imagine my suprise :)

Any ideas? Need any more info?

adamthole said:
I am very new to PIC controllers. I am currently using a pic16f628 with a pg2c programmer and ICProg as my programmer. When I program in circuit with only my 20 MHz crystal installed and one LED (with resistor of course) it will not re-program the chip. However, if I take the crystal out of the circuit it will program with no problem. Is this normal behavior or am I doing something wrong? Any clue where? One thing that may or may not be a culprit is that I am not using any caps on the crystal. I ordered 20pF caps for it, but I wasnt paying close enough attention and actually ordered the 0201 smd package instead of the usual. Imagine my suprise :)