Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

what do you call a CPU less computer

Status
Not open for further replies.

neptune

i studied in computer architecture that we can build a computer without the use of CPU.

using only memory and its addressing, what is the name of that kind of computer ?

If my computer had no CPU I'd call it 'junk' :D.

A state machine.

Agreed. I made a simple circuit to switch lights on and off in my house in the 1980's. It consisted of a 1 sec clock via a binary counter derived from a crystal with a CD4060 divider clocking the address pins of a preprogrammed EPROM. The data lines at any address/time drove lines via a buffer to switch a relay. Once synched at midnight on a specific day ran for years without issues. A switch behind the door drove CE high thus disabling the whole system when I arrived home from work.

A state machine/computer without a CPU.

A state machine is very limited as to the functions it can perform as compared to a von Neumann computer.

An analog computer, to my knowledge, does not use a CPU. E
True, but it also doesn't use memory, as the OP stated in his question, which implies a digital machine. ;)

True, but it also doesn't use memory, as the OP stated in his question, which implies a digital machine. ;)