Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

What is the 12 volts supplying the voltage reg or is it a direct output signal or bot

Status
Not open for further replies.

JAMES IRVINE

I'll begin by saying I'm an electrical engineering student doing an electronics project. I was wondering if anyone can explain to me what is going on with the mosfets in this circuit **broken link removed** What is puzzling me is that I initiially thought that ic1 creating a square wave pulse was the template for the output waveform but then i learned that the mosfet gate driver changes this square wave shape to something completely different.
As far as the action of the mosfets what does this pulse from the gater driver make the mosfet do?
What it sounds like is happening is the 12 volts from the supply is feeding the voltage regulator and is bypassing all components to form the output signal for the mosfet at the same time. Is this correct?:confused:

IC1 is just using the TR1 and R4 (or TR2 and R6) as a level shifter (and gate driver). THe level shifter lets IC1 switch the MOSFET on and off when it does not output the right voltage levels to do so.

What MOSFET gate driver are you talking about? I see no MOSFET gate driver. The only MOSFETs are TR3-TR6 and those are being driven directly by the transistor-pull-up resistor level shifter (if you realy want to call that a gate driver). THe level shifter is there because the MOSFETs require 10-12V gate voltage to turn on, but IC1 can only output 5V.