What is the output voltage in this circuit?

Status
Not open for further replies.

dexterdev

View attachment 61072
I would like to know the output voltage in this circuit at label A. (I am a beginner , sorry for stupid questions if any? )

The circuit setup is a sine wave source (ideal) in parallel with DC source series with a resistor.

-Devanand T

Provided that the sinewave source is DC blocking and of low output impedance, you have the 1VAC (centered) riding on 1VDC.
Why not simulate it in the free LTSpice? E
PS: there is never (correction: seldom) such a thing as a stupid question

dexterdev,

I would like to know the output voltage in this circuit at label A.

Point A is the measurement across the AC voltage, so the AC source will determine what the voltage will be. The DC source only determines the amount, direction, and type of current existing in the circuit.

Ratch

Assume your AC signal is goes from -1V to +1V (i.e.it has no DC component itself - DC blocking) then when the sine wave is at -1V, it is added to the +1V of the DC source which gives you 0V. When the sine wave is at +1V and added to the 1V DC source, the output is 2V, so as canadaelk has aleady pointed out, it'a a 1V sinewave sat on a 1V DC level. What used to vary from -1V to +1V now varies from 0C to +2V.

thakyou for the reply sir, but I have still doubts (no one else for help)

Point A is the measurement across the AC voltage,
Ratch

but point A is also across DC source in series to resistor.

so the AC source will determine what the voltage will be. The DC source only determines the amount, direction, and type of current existing in the circuit.

why AC source determines the output voltage

We don't know enough about the signal source to determine the output voltage of this circuit.
Is it a signal generator with an average DC output of 0V but an output impedance of 50 ohms?
Is the signal from an amplifier that has an extremely low output impedance and an average output of 0V?