What should I do with unconnected pins in Eagle?

Status
Not open for further replies.

BOBKA

Hi,

The RS-232 part of my schematics fails ERC. The error is:
ERROR: Sheet 1/1: unconnected INPUT Pin: IC2 T2IN
ERROR: Sheet 1/1: unconnected INPUT Pin: IC2 R2IN

Basically I am not using T2IN and R2IN on the MAX232, so Eagle gives an error. Should I just connect those to either VDD or GND?

Also, I recall that Orcad had the NC (No Connect) symbol, does Eagle has something similar? I am asking that in case I will get some routing trouble when connecting T2IN and R2IN to VDD/GND.

Thank You,

Vlad.

I have no experience with the MAX232 so all I recommend is reading the spec sheet. They usually mention what to do with unused pins. As far as eagle goes, you can just ignore the errors if the spec sheet says to leave them unconnected. The errors will not affect the PCB, they are just there to warn you in case you really wanted them connected somewhere.

What do you suppose the spec sheet says to do with an unconnected output? This is an Eagle problem, not a real world problem. Many packages besides OrCAD also have the No Connect symbol. I would re-search the Eagle documentation or the error message explanation for the solution.

You can specify pins as NC when you design the part. It would be handy to have that option in the schematic editor.

You could make a new version of the part in the lib and specify the unused pins as NC. Not a nice solution.

I have left pins in Eagle unconnected and get the same error, but as long as they do not really need to be connected you can just ignore it, can't you? It seemed to me that he thought he absolutely needed to fix the error before continuing in Eagle.