Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Wheatstone power

Status
Not open for further replies.

bee

Hi

I have a wheatstone bridge circuit reading a change in resistance of a strain gauge through op amp working fine but need to reduce power while keeping the circuit working
resistors 120ohms s/gauge 120ohms voltage 5volts i am not an expert

any help thanks

Last edited:
Hi

I have a wheatstone bridge circuit reading a change in resistance of a strain gauge through op amp working fine but need to reduce power while keeping the circuit working

any help thanks
You can cut the power dissipated by the bridge almost in half by changing two of the resistors to a higher value.
The strain gauge is in series with one of the 120Ω resistors. That can't change. The other two can be much higher. Their actual value is not critical as long as they are equal, both have the same temperature coefficient, and are in a common thermal environment. They do need to be low enough value that amplifier bias current is not a factor. What kind of amplifier are you using, and what is the gain?

The op amp is a mcp6292 microchip and the gain is 100
the res into op amp are 100k + side and 1k - side and 1meg feedback
thanks

Last edited:
Hi

any help thanks

hi,
If you reduce the 'power' to the bridge, I assume you mean the bridge excitation voltage.[Vx]?

If you reduce the Vx to the bridge you will reduce the sensistivity and 'span' of the bridge also.