Where to begin? Needing switch help.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Quentin.Lynn

I have some electronics experience, not a whole lot and have been tasked to figure out a solution. We have a PTZ camera that will go onto a sliding rail systems. We want to use the camera's internal output to drive a servo to move the camera on the slider back and forth. The issue is that the output is only limited to either on or off @ 3 volts DC. My thought is to use some type of 3 stage switch (this is where I am at a loss as to what type of switch) to turn the power "on" "off" and to reverse polarity to reverse the motor. I have not figured out what size motor I will use yet. I'm trying to work through the logic on how it will work before. So in my perfect world, when i press the "on" button, on the camera we slowly start sliding one way. I press "off" we stop. I press "on" again, we go the opposite direction.
Any ideas?
Thanks in advance..
Quentin

What limitations does this "output" have in terms of maximum current, frequency? Is it gnd+V or is it two independent outputs? When the output is zeero voltage, is it a short between terminals?

Any pictures of device/camera?

I set the "switch" on the camera to on and got 3 volts from my meter. Here is some documentaion with scematic of the camera.View attachment 61885 maybe this will answer some of the questions. I appreciate all your help.

First thing is that it seems that you're equiped with 12V, not 3V.

Another thing is that there is no information at all about how fast it can switch. I doubt that the camera output is suited for pmw control at all. More documentation is needed.

When you say how fast does it switch, what do you mean? When I select on, it stays on until I choose the "Off". What other information can I provide you?

I see my answer wasn't specific enough.