Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Why does my simple rectified AC signal look like this?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pavius

I've never worked with AC before, and after having rectified a simple 24VAC signal with a diode bridge (which looks like a perfect sine wave) i see this. Could it be the capacitance on the breadboard? The passive scope probes? The regulator and cap in the background are not connected in this case.

The signal gets filtered and regulated to 5V just fine, i'm just curious why it doesn't look like a perfect rectified sine wave.

TIA

Attachments

• P1010179-large.jpg
    P1010179-large.jpg
    147.5 KB · Views: 238
  • P1010182-large.jpg
    P1010182-large.jpg
    124 KB · Views: 228
What does the AC waveform from the transformer look like? if similar spikes appear on both sides, (the positive and negative wave) I suggest it is mains carried interference.
If not it may just be one of the diodes damaged and causing it.
Nev.

put a load on ouput of rectifier and wave should be normal, this is probably cause by capacitance of oscilloscope

Also, make sure the X1/X10 switch on your scope probe is fully in one position or the other. In the photo it doesn't appear to be fully in the X10 position.

creakndale

Last edited:
When the transformer secondary voltage is at its peak, two diodes turn on, and one end of the winding is at about -0.6 V and the other end is at about 0.6 V above the capacitor voltage.