Wireless Message Project

Status
Not open for further replies.

Camac

Hey all,
I am fairly new to electronics I know almost all of the basics, but I would like to know if anyone knows of any tutorials where a wireless message gets sent by a computer and goes to a reciver where it gets displayed on an LCD screen (prefrebly scrolling).
Also it has to be on a legal frequency because I need at least 1km (prob not possible)
If anyone canhelp it will be very-much appreciated!
Regards
Cameron

What about those mobile road signs? I wonder what frequency they work on? Mind you, they could be SMS controlled or something like that. Infact, maybe you could go down that route! Nothing illegal about using SMS, and provided you don't intend for the message to change very frequently, it could be cost effective to use.

If you've got an old Nokia phone which you're not using or something, maybe you could look into controlling it via the serial port. You'll have to do some research into the commands that are available, but I think you should be able to obtain the text information from within a text message and use it to control a display.

Obviously, that's quite an involved project involving some complex microcontroller programming.

Brian

there's a load of kits and assembled devices which convert serial to wireless and back again. depending on the datarate you need to update your lcd with, that will determine the cost

1km range isn't that far, but it sounds like NLOS - non line of site ... so you'll want to keep that in mind when choosing the band for your transimitter

thermal's sms suggestion is another great idea ... everything is done already for you ... just jack your computer into a cell phone (or get a SMS card for it), and transmit messages wirelessly, to an LCD screen (aka another cell phone), range is much more than 1km too