Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

wireless tyre pressure sensor

Status
Not open for further replies.

jay543_uk

Hello all

Im a ford technician who like to play around with electronic projects, iv had an idea for a test tool for work and want to no if it would be easy to do.

I want a tool to test tyre pressure sensors without removing the wheels and tyres.

I no the vehicle sends a LF signal to the sensor (i beleive 125khz ) and then the sensor sends its data back at 433mhz.

So i no the car will send out a LF signal every time i turn the ignition on to read the sensors so i shouldnt have to wurry about the LF side of things but can i just buy a 433mhz reciever and captor the data using a PIC and if so how would i no to use a am or fm reciever

I don't know how Ford does it but I worked for GM/Delphi Electric and their tire pressure sensors used the anti-lock brake reluctor rings to generate the signals. If all 4 wheels where off by the same amount, the system said they were correct pressure.

some system use the abs to measeure each wheel speed to work out if a wheel is flat, ie if a tyre deflats more than any of the others then that tyres circufence is less and turns faster than the rest to keep up.

The system i want to be able to test has a sensor in each wheel and a tx in the wheel arch