40% duty cycle square wave generator circuit.I need help to develop this circuit

Status
Not open for further replies.

navinthan

hi there,im a student.im assigned by my groupmates to create this circuit.i js cant find any information about it.hope any of the members can help me.the frequency adjustable will be between 1-10KHz.thank you.

I guess they assigned you this task because none of them have a clue how to do it. I'll give you help in two steps.

Tell me, what is the step response of a series RC circuit when there is no voltage on the capacitor.

Tell me, in a series RC circuit with the voltage on the capacitor equal to the supply voltage what is the step resonse when the switch to the supply is opened.

Express the results V(t) = ... where V(t) is a function of time, t and Vo, R, and C are parameters.

Some other spoilsport will probably just give you the answer in which case you will have learned nothing.

Search Google for 555 timer tutorial. I've seen atleast three sites containing such information, there is also an online wizard some place.

HarveyH42 said:
Search Google for 555 timer tutorial. I've seen atleast three sites containing such information, there is also an online wizard some place.
Ya spoilsport! I knew that someone could not resist giving the game away.

I don't think I spoiled it just yet. There is still much for him to do, in order to answer the question or design the circuit. Just point him to the resources he will need, whether he makes use of them is another story. If doesn't come back with some sort of circuit, guessing this is just another 'do it for me' request...

Can a 555 timer gives 40% of duty cycle? I thought the minimum is not less than 50% with the formula (R1+R2)/(R1+2R2) ??

bananasiong said:
Can a 555 timer gives 40% of duty cycle? I thought the minimum is not less than 50% with the formula (R1+R2)/(R1+2R2) ??