5 scrolling arrow indicator

Status
Not open for further replies.

individual

Hi there, I'm new to this forum and am having a bit of trouble with a project.
I'm making custom LED tail lights for my car, and I need help with making a scrolling indicator. I know how to wire up basic leds with resistors, but unfortunately didn't pay much attention in highschool as to how transistors/timing circuits etc work.

This is a simple animation of what I am looking to accomplish with your help.

**broken link removed**

I need each "arrow" to be a 12v channel, I've worked out that I need a 14 ohm resistor for each channel (so closest actual resistor is...16 ohm?

It's probably such a simple request, but I've tried looking all over the net, I've found similar circuits and they said you could modify the channels with transistors but, I'm not that good with electronics.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

It looks like it would help, although I honestly don't understand half of the stuff it is talking about. I understand when its talking about "grouping" the LED's through gates but thats about the limit for me haha. It said on the page that it can run higher current loads...is there any way to tell if it can run 12v per output or if you can use selective outputs (eg instead of it running through all 10 it only runs through 5)?

You can short-cycle the 4017 counter by feeding back the first unused output to the Reset pin. For example, if you want only five leds, you would used the decoded OUTPUTs 0,1,2,3, and 4. Output 5 would get wired back to RESET, so the counter recycles back to OUT0 after OUT4 (five states).

Note that the 4017 will barely drive one 20mA LED per OUT pin. For your application, you probably need >100mA per arrow segment, so you will need a driver consisting of a transistor (or something else) between the 4017 pin and the clump of LEDs in the segment.