a very simple sensor system for a newbie

Status
Not open for further replies.

newbie73

Hi all
I will apologise now as I have very little electronics experience and have what for so will seam like a very simple question. I need a sensor system which I can run off small batteries AAA or AA’S, it has to be able to detect an object travelling at high speed (200 – 400 FPS) then trigger a switch for a second or less and the turn the switch off again ready for the next object.

I was wondering if I could use a beam set up, what I mean is when the object passes through the beam it is detected and the circuit is closed thus making the motor turn on, I don’t know how to time it or how to turn it off, or indeed any of the above!! lol

As I am sure you have all worked out by now I don’t really have a clue about electronics and would need some very kind person to let me know if what I want to do is possible and how I go about making it, a circuit diagram with components list and a “stupid blokes guide to putting together” would be fantastic.

I know it’s a lot to ask but I thought id ask and see what comes back, I have and am still looking over this and many other forums for diagrams already provided so again apologies if this is out there but haven’t found it yet.

Cheers

I spose you could try a laser and CDS sensor. Hook it up with a simple 555 'light detector' and it should work fine. has the circuit. I have built it myself and works well for high speeds. With the switch, I would think a realay is too slow. Im not exactly sure what you want, but these Maxim Analog switch IC could help (**broken link removed**,
datasheet: https://www.electro-tech-online.com/custompdfs/2007/04/MAX4620-MAX4640.pdf)
Be sure to choose the right one, that is, most likely a N.O. in a DIP package.

It is unlikely that you will find these in your local store, but, Maxim do offer free samples, anywhere in the world, two weeks.

Hope this helps.

hi