An electronic dictionary

Status
Not open for further replies.

kamitoki

Hi. I'm a japanese language student and a former chemical engineer. I know only a little of electronics, and some programming.

I was wondering if I could make a Japanese language electronic dictionary myself? Is there a schematic available that I can follow?

Thanks.

I have a dictionary of electronics, written by Rudolf Graf and published by Howard W. Sams & Co. It is probably out of print because it is dated 1970. The Library of Congress Catalog Card Number is: 68-13873.

Another book is Glossary of Communications by Emerson C. Smith, copyright 1971, Library of Congress Catalog Card Number: 70-169786.

You would need permission of the copyright owner to use these books.

Er, sorry, I think you misunderstood me. I wanted to make by myself those little handheld dictionaries, the kind you use when you're studying a foreign language and want to look up a word.

I know only a little of electronics, and some programming.
Still you want to make a dictionary which some company's sell as their product, gr8 ambition!!!
Lets start from the basic
You need to have following basic component for your dictionary
LCD display,
Keyboard,
Memory to store words and their meaning
To interface all of the above obviously you will require a microprocessor/microcontroller
What kind of microcontroller you are familiar with?

I live in the Philippines you see. And most folks here are learning Japanese to get better jobs. Unless your folks are rich, no way can you afford wordtank and the like.

I thought I'd have to make the microprocessor myself. Thank you very much for pointing me in the right direction. Once I study about it some more I may be able to ask more informed questions.

Thanks again for your kindness and encouragement.