Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Audio signal sensing switch for car stereo

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lost Dog

Hello all,

I'm new to all of this but I figure I have to start somewhere. I have no problems pulling out a soldering iron and following directions but I don't have the background to get from A to B.

I've got a 6 Disk Rockford Fosgate stereo in my 03' Xterra. This just happened to be one of the two years that this stereo has no easy way to hook an ipod or other external device to it. I'd love to hook my old nano up to it and have music rather than have a car filled with disks.

Some enterprising individual on an Xterra forum found a way to approach this by tapping in to the CD wiring and adding a switch to go between CD and AUX input. Link below:

**broken link removed**

I'd like to keep this as clean as possible and not have to mount a toggle switch in the vehicle (if possible). Is there some sort of switch that would sense the audio input when an Ipod is attached? This way I could mount everything behind the dash and run one input line to the console between the seats. When I plug the Ipod in it automatically initiates the switch and I'm in musical bliss.