Auto increment product serial number

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi all,I'm up to some projects involving product identification.
The MCUs I'm working on include those with and without internal EEPROM.I'm thinking of storing a table that contains product serial number either inside the flash ROM or EEPROM.And make these specific bytes auto-increment when I burn the program into each MCU.But I don't know how to do it.
I have the Microchip's official device ICD2,and a third-party programer - ISPro that's only compatible of burning PIC16F87x(A).I can either burn the Hex code into the MCUs with ICD2 in MPLAB or with the ISPro in its dedicated software by importing the Hex file.
I'm not really good at PC software programing,so you can't count on me in writing a supervising plug-in for MPLAB that detects each burning process and modify its destination file.That seems way too complicated.But I would like to hear some advice and get to know how many ways there are to realize my intention.Any information will be appreciable.My gratitude in advance.

I would suggest you need to do some PC programming, for a start is ISPro capable of accepting command line parameters?.

Assuming it is?, you could write a PC program that changes the HEX file, then calls ISPro to blow the PIC - this running in a continuous loop would program every PIC with a different serial number.

To make changing the HEX file simple you need to have the serial number stored at a particular address - probably the very top of memory?. It would be simple then for a PC program to locate and change the required line in the HEX file.

Presumably if you had a production programmer it would allow you to do this anyway?.