Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Basic 38kHz detector

Status
Not open for further replies.

titous

Hello everyone! I've got a DIY home project that I need help with; my background is mechanical engineering, and I've only had one circuits class several years ago, so bear with me.

I'm trying to build a circuit which will operate a relay and thus complete a circuit, and I'd like to be able to operate it with an IR remote (basically I'm making an IR camera trigger to be used for photography).

I'm taking it one step at a time and first I'd like to get the actual detecting part down by testing it with a generic TV remote which I'm assuming is sending a signal at 38kHz. I bought a 38kHz IR receiver module form radio shack (276-640) and have attached it to a bread board to see if I can read the signal sent from the remote.
**broken link removed**

The part on the left is my way of sending a +4.5V to the receiver as well as making a "virtual ground". The square object on the right is the actual receiver (couldn't find the symbol for it).

When I have it all hooked up, and I try to read the signal (by attaching a volt meter across the signal out and ground) I'm getting a stead signal of about +2V and when i press the remote button, I see it dip slightly. I expected to see a +4.5V whenever the receiver sees the IR signal, can anyone tell me what I'm doing wrong?

Thank you all for your help!