Circuit quest use of LM324/555 as motor driver

Status
Not open for further replies.

marchache

I'm planning to build this light following microbot:

https://www.winnipegrobotics.com/Projects/How It Works - Coke Can Robot.pdf

basically it uses 4 photocells. These are fed into two comparators, the outputs fed into two 556's which then drive the motors.

According to the author the 556 is used for for its comparator, flip-flop, and its ability to source or sink up to 200mA of motor current.

I'm very new at this and I don't quite understand why I can't drive the motors directly from the comparator outputs. From what I understand the outputs will be either 7.5V or 0V. Enough to drive a mall hobby motor?

I guess I'm not sure what s meant by "source or sink 200ma".

Thanks
Marc

marchache said:
I'm very new at this and I don't quite understand why I can't drive the motors directly from the comparator outputs. From what I understand the outputs will be either 7.5V or 0V. Enough to drive a mall hobby motor?

The outputs of the comparator can't handle enough power to feed the motor, it's not the volts which are the problem, but the current capacity which isn't high enough.

I guess I'm not sure what s meant by "source or sink 200ma".

200mA refers to the current it can handle, it would probably be enough for very small motors. Source or sink refer to the actual method of motor connection - for 'source', the power flows out of the 555, through the motor, and down to ground - so the 555 is the actual source of power for the motor. For 'sink', power is connected to the top of the motor, and the 555 connects the bottom of the motor to ground - 'sinking' the current to ground. Basically it's where the 555 switches the motor, either at the top (positive) or bottom (negative).

Thanks Nigel. Appreciate the quick reply.