Comparators give me headaches!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Electroman987

I'm pretty new at electronics but I have some experience. I am using LM339 to determine whether or not certain voltages are 5v or not. I was thinking to connect 5v to the reference (+) side and the measured voltage (-) to the other side. Then as the Vdd, I am connecting 5v again. All of this is going to a basic stamp to be determined as high or low. Do I still need a pull up resistor to have the microcontroller detect it? And if I do, what ohm dose it need to be? Help would be greatly appreciated.

Sincerely,
A student

Since you're a student... *grin*

Download the datasheet: **broken link removed**

Go to page 15, look at the schematic of the parts inside the comparator. Where does the current flow when the comparator is supposed to indicate "true" -> what's the current through the transistor, what's the voltage across the transistor?

Now that you've done that and figured what size resistor is required, can you tell me why the comparator is going to be outputting garbage? Hint: page 2, there are some characteristics labeled "Input offset voltage" "Input bias current" "Input bias voltage"...

Something seems odd about this setup. Your supply voltage is 5V on the 339, yet you want it to tell you when the input is at 5V or not? This doesn't make sense. What range of voltages will be coming into the 339 in the first place? I guess that would be a start.

At least one input needs to be within the common mode range of the LM339. Look at the data sheet to see that for single supply operation the input common mode rangeg is GND to (Vcc - 1.5V). For a 5V systems that's 3.5V. The reason is the PNP inputs need to have their inputs two diode drops below th positive rail.

Ok. Let me straiten some facts out.
1. I’m a student in high school doing this for a science fair project. And most of the technical meaning gave me no help (*sorry)