Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

data moitor

Status
Not open for further replies.

logan

hello / i am a radio amateur but do not know much about data monitors / i have been given one which has a cathode ray tube with about 4ins square face / there are 5 connections one for 12volts one for negative the other three are marked vid / hs / vs / on power up the screen goes green / i would like to build a simple unit that would allow me to put something on the screen using these video/hor. sync./vert. sync. terminals. i live in warrington cheshire.thank you / logan.

The video input modulates the brightness of the beam. I suspect that hs stands for horizontal sweep not sync, and the same for vertical. You could make a ramp generator for the horizontal, an amplifier for the vertical and have an osilloscope.

Feed it a TV signal, it'll be happy. Black and white only though. You should be able to buy a composite video decoder that will give you the independant Horizontal Vertical and 'video' signals.

Sceadwian said:
You should be able to buy a composite video decoder ...
Or being a radio amateur, you might want to build one using a sync separator chip like this one: **broken link removed**
My Google search for "sync separator" gave almost 70K hits, with this being the very first one.
JB