data moitor

Status
Not open for further replies.

logan

hello / i am a radio amateur but do not know much about data monitors / i have been given one which has a cathode ray tube with about 4ins square face / there are 5 connections one for 12volts one for negative the other three are marked vid / hs / vs / on power up the screen goes green / i would like to build a simple unit that would allow me to put something on the screen using these video/hor. sync./vert. sync. terminals. i live in warrington cheshire.thank you / logan.

The video input modulates the brightness of the beam. I suspect that hs stands for horizontal sweep not sync, and the same for vertical. You could make a ramp generator for the horizontal, an amplifier for the vertical and have an osilloscope.

Feed it a TV signal, it'll be happy. Black and white only though. You should be able to buy a composite video decoder that will give you the independant Horizontal Vertical and 'video' signals.

Sceadwian said:
You should be able to buy a composite video decoder ...
Or being a radio amateur, you might want to build one using a sync separator chip like this one: **broken link removed**
My Google search for "sync separator" gave almost 70K hits, with this being the very first one.
JB

dear all / thank you for all the interest / i have cut the wires leading to the scan coils and now get a spot on the screen / if i connect one pair of wires back to a coil i get a vertical line and if i connect the other pair to the other coil i get a horizontal line / i would welcome more info / thank you / logan.

For a start, why on earth are you randomly cutting wires?.

As you have already been told, you need a video signal, horizontal sync, and vertical sync - you can easily obtain these from a composite video signal using the LM1881 mentioned.