Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Dual Output Transformer : both parallel and series current.

Status
Not open for further replies.

rojer64

Hi all

I am a musician, currently building a rack for live gigs. Some items in the rack come with wall warts. These are the ones I want to get rid off.

A couple of preamps operate at 9 VAC, 1Amp max; I ditched the two wall warts and replaced them with an overspec'ed transformer :

240 VAC > 9 VAC 4A X 2(dual). Total 72 VA. This is a heavy piece of metal, can be bolted or screwed on the wooden chassis. So far so good. Seems I could add 6 pres and use the same power source.

Problem is I'd liketo add a new (dual) pre which operates at 18VAC, 1 Amp max. Makes sense, since it has two channels...

The replacement transfo, being dual out, could provide 18 VAC/4A with a different wiring. But is there a way, maybe through isolation, to get both 9VAC and 18 VAC from this single transformer, ending up supplying AC power to all three preamps ?

Or whould you advise that I open the dual pre and see if I can manage to provide 9V to each channel ?

I must say I have no knowledge whatsoever in such matters : only thing I know is that I hate wall warts in my racks. I could get a second transfo but the first one is like having it kind of easy right now, at 2Ax9V max when it can do 8...

Appreciate any input, even discouraging or ironic... Maybe I'll have a clue afterwards :)

Thanks for reading.
Roger.
Biarritz, France.

Last edited: