Flashing LED using 555 timer...

Status
Not open for further replies.

IWT

I'm new to electronics, and I know this is basic stuff, but I still can't get the silly thing to work.

I've tried several different circuits, each one differing from the other.

I gave this one a bash, ( https://www.555-timer-circuits.com/flashing-led.html ) and it was the only circuit that my LED actually lit up. It lit up, but didn't flash. The video isn't very clear on where to put the components, but I think I managed to get them in the correct place.

Photo... https://i988.photobucket.com/albums/af9/mrcaptain/20120622_161853.jpg

I tried flipping the 555, switching the polarity of the capacitor and even using a different capacitor.

Can anyone spot where I've gone wrong?

In the photobucket picture it looks like you have the ic in backwards. There is a small indentation next to pin1, and that is where negative goes. You may have let the magic smoke out of your ic, so it might not work ever again.

Reactions: IWT
Adding to what Gerty said, your short red wire is in the wrong place. Reverse the IC and move the end of the red wire from pin 3 to pin 2.

Thanks for the replies guys.

I had the IC the proper way to begin with, but on the youtube comment page, one of the pieces of advice was that it was in the wrong way, and to switch it, so I did.
The LED lights up with the IC indent on the left or the right.
I switched it the proper way, and it still lights, but doesn't blink.

The short red wire is in pin 2, is it not?

I'm confused now. lol.

EDIT... Looked at the picture, noticed the wire wasn't in pin2, so switched it. Still no blinking.

Last edited:
Thanks again HouseOFwax.
Still no flashing. The LED lights again, but alas, no flashing.
I'm guessing there is a problem somewhere, however, I've tried several different components, and still the same outcome.