Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Freezer Temperature Monitor

Status
Not open for further replies.

ljh

a newbie here - want to limit the run time of a standby generator utilizing freezer temperature. Have a Microchip TC622EAT sensor that works great on the breadboard. Can set the critical temperature with resistance. It flip/flops the 12 vdc from high output to a low output when critical trigger temperature is reached. However, I need to operate a 12 vdc relay that can handle 10 amps. The one I have draws 75 ma and the sensor max is 600 microamps. So, I screwed up the sensor output - only puts out 4 vdc which obviously won't trigger the relay coil. (I have a couple more sensors to play with)
The relay is NO, closed utilizing high out from sensor until temperature reaches trigger point and the 12 vdc flips.
The idea is if there is a prolonged power outage and I am out of town, the generator would run 24/7 and run the propane tank dry. If it only ran when the freezer needed it, it would conserve massive amounts of fuel.
Any and all suggestions appreciated. Thanks