Getting the resistors right

Status
Not open for further replies.

UTMonkey

As a self confessed noob, I have been reading loads on Electronics theory and now am at the stage to put it all in practice.

So lets say I try out a simple transistor switch example. The first thing I want to make sure is that I select the appropiate resistors for the job.

Please see attached image file.

This was copied from a book I have been studying, what is useful about this books it gives an insight as to what steps you should go through to select the right transistors.

Please review the following steps and feel free to comment or correct.

1. Understand what the job of the transistor is. (in this case to switch on an led).
2. The LED takes around 20mA and we know the npn transistor (Q1) can take up to 100mA (so its a good choice)
3. The value for R4 is calculated based on the supply voltage minus the drop across the LED (2V) = (6 - 2) / 0.020 = 200 ohms.
4. Lets say that the voltage at point A is 1.5 volts (produced by the LDR + R1).
5. If Q1 is on when the voltage at A is 1.5V then the limiting resistor value R3 is derived by subtracting the base voltage drop (0.7) from 1.5V (at point A) and then dividing by an appropriate amperage based on the collector current and the gain of the transistor.

6. So if the gain of the npn transistor is 100 and the current at the collector is 20mA, then a suitable base current is 0.020 / 100 = 200 microamps.

7. Knowing that (steps 6 and 7) we can do the following
R3 = (Voltage drop at base - Voltage at A ) divided by (Collector current divided by gain of transistor)
R3 = (1.5 - 0.7) divided by ( 20mA / 100)
R3 = (0.8) / (200 microamps)
R3 = 4K (or 3K9 as a nearest value)

I like this, It makes sense and I can work with it. I do have one little question though that will complete this.

At point A there is 1.5Volts, ok - but there is also a current.
My guess is that at A the current will be about 1.5mA (based on 6Volts divided by R1 (3k9))