Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

H-bridge to drive latching solenoid

Status
Not open for further replies.

mn1247

I need to drive a latching solenoid. After doing some research, I am realizing that I need an H-bridge, and would like to use an IC for this.

However, I've never used such a device before and I am hoping to find an example of how one is operated. Also, I'm confused as to whether I should be using a "full-H" or two "half-H" circuits (I've seen chips with each). Moreover, I'm hoping the chip might output a pulse in response to a continuous input (since the solenoid only needs a brief pulse to switch).

The solenoid is 9V, and needs 1.5A for 10msec to switch.

Any advice or examples? Particular devices I should look at? Thank you.

Eric

I can see no reason why you need an H bridge to drive a solenoid. An H bridge is usually used to drive a motor with the feature of reversing the motor direction.

I think you can get by with a single transistor to drive your coil.

Because it's a latching solenoid, it needs one current pulse in the forward direction to latch it, and one current pulse in the reverse direction to unlatch it.

Hence, I think, the H-bridge.

Eric

Can you post the link to the data sheet or part number of the relay?

H Bridge

You should be able to use something like a 754410 (in parellel). You need to tell us a bit more about how you are switching it before we can help develope the pulse to drive it.

Here is what you are looking for.