Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Help Figure Out This Circuit?, series multivibrator

Status
Not open for further replies.

ACHIEVEIT

Hi guys,

i am new here but i really like this place. I am currently studying electrical engineering at the university so i am still learning. I have a problem figuring out a circuit and i wonder if anyone could help me. The circuit is this https://www.4qdtec.com/mvbz/smv1.gif and some info about it can be found here 4QD-TEC: Multivibrators and Relaxation Oscillator Circuits . It is a series multivibrator that produces sawtooth signals. However, i can't get it to work right. I connect a dc supply between the two horizontal lines on the top and bottom of the circuit (+ goes to the top line) as well as a ground to the bottom line. I take the output from the collector of the npn transistor (the upper one). Can you help me understand how this circuit works? Also, can you help me choose the transistors and diode to make it work? Thanks a lot guys

Use a 2N3904 for the NPN, a 2N3906 for the PNP, a 1N914 for the diode.

Use a 2N3904 for the NPN, a 2N3906 for the PNP, a 1N914 for the diode.

What about the dc supply?

The best results were in 9.7V and 10.2V but again the peak-to-peak is very very low. The professor asked for 1V or more peak-to-peak. Any idea? I have attached the output for the two values + the circuit

Attachments

• circuit.jpg
    circuit.jpg
    72.6 KB · Views: 211
  • 9.7V.jpg
    9.7V.jpg
    255.2 KB · Views: 203
  • 10.2V.jpg