Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

help fixing trunk switch

Status
Not open for further replies.

snwsk8r8

i need help fixing the trunk switch in the back of my car. this is a picture of the backside of the switch.i have some knowledge in electronics but not much. the light in my trunk does not work. i bought a new bulb and it still does not work. from the harness that comes out of the car that this connects to i am getting 11.75 volts. the bulb is good becuase i have the voltmeter on the setting that makes noise for the closed circuit. so i narrowed it down to the switch itself. i took a picture and did some doodling. the red line is the path of the circuit. the yellow is where i have one probe of the voltmeter. the other end i can put anywhere on the red line to get the noise except where the blue is. to me this means that resistor is my problem. can someone with the knowledge help me pinpoint my problem so i can fix it.

thanks.

** sorry if this is not the correct section for this thread, i was not sure where to put it.

**broken link removed**

picture without doodles
**broken link removed**

Last edited:
hi,
That looks like a power diode or zener [not a resistor] .
The white line is the cathode.

Is there a type number printed on the body of the diode.?

i am looking at it and there is a # printed on it. from what i can see it looks lke

P10