Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Help with power shifting

Status
Not open for further replies.

xerowulf

Hello! I am a relative electronics newb, and as such I need some help.

I want to put an Automotive EL (ElectroLuminescent) Cable through the back of a keyboard so that when it is on, it lights up the transparent keys from behind. I want to power it directly off the PS2 connector. However, we all know that the only power running to the Keyboard is +5V DC, and the EL Cable runs off the automotive standard's +12V DC...

Is there any way I can shift the power from +5VDC-> +12VDC?

Thanks in advance for any help possible, and I'm not afraid of soldering, so any solution whatsoever is acceptable.

It can only handle up to 180mA load, so check how much current your EL cable requires.
also, it seems to be only available in SMD packages, wich might be a problem ?

It can only handle up to 180mA load, so check how much current your EL cable requires

yes i didnt consider that. xerowulf you should tell your current requirement. there are hundereds of possibilities for a 5V to 12V step-up switcher (search on google and see for yourself). maxim and national have quite elegant solutions for what u require. just a single chip and a couple of resistors and capacitors. see what amount of current u need and then look for the step-up converter.

thinking about it, you might have another problem...