Help with RGB LEDs

Status
Not open for further replies.

PwnToaster

Hello, I am still fairly new to this so please bare with me.

For my first project I want to have 5 RGB LEDs to fade slowly from color to color. I plan on using a ATMega168 for the PWM. Right, I need to know if my connections shown in my schematic will work. I know that a microcontroller by itself can run a single led from its pins. Since I need to run 5, I used the ULN2003 IC. I found this info **broken link removed**.
Here's my schematic:
**broken link removed**

Thanks for your help!

(how will you make PWN without capacitors ? and with only 1 bit for each color ?)
your schematic will only make them change into diferent colors but it will not fade, to fade you need PWM to slowlly increase and decrease the voltage on each color.

The i.c. in your design is an power darlington driver, i guess... it is meant to drive dc motors and step motor coils... but it will work for your design, you only need to change the the pins used to control the colors to pins that have PWM outputs, or just make 3 simple 8Bit / 4Bit D/A conv. that with your i.c. will work very nice

have fun

Last edited:
(how will you make PWN without capacitors ? and with only 1 bit for each color ?)
I believe the ATMega168 can generate PWM without capacitors. I'm having trouble finding which pins are for PWM. I need three, obliviously. Thanks for all of your help!

Hello, I am still fairly new to this so please bare with me.
Bare with you?! What kind of forum do you think this is, anyway? I think you meant, "bear with me," but in any case, I'm open-minded!
**broken link removed**

Last edited:
I believe the ATMega168 can generate PWM without capacitors. I'm having trouble finding which pins are for PWM. I need three, obliviously. Thanks for all of your help!
The ATMega168 has 6 PWM output pins.

On a 28-pin DIP they are:
PD6 - OC0A - Pin 12
PD5 - OC0B - Pin 11
PB1 - OC1A - Pin 15
PB2 - OC1B - Pin 16
PB3 - OC2A - Pin 17