high temperature influence IC

Status
Not open for further replies.

fsstudent

Hey Guys,

I'm studying forensic science and i'm going to do a project about the influence of high temperatures on IC and the data on it.

Electronics is not realy my cup of tea but i'll do my best.

The IC that i'm going to use is a M24C16 - WBN6P EEPROM DIP8.

I want to know what the max temp specifications are for the IC.
I have the datasheet and i see some temperatures in it.

But do i have to look to the Ambient operating temperature or the Storage temperature? Or is it something else?

grtz

Last edited:
M24Cxx-Wxx6 max operating temp is listed as 85C and storage temp is 150C so you may want to do two experiments, the first with power applied and outputting a constant stream of data (a 10101010 stored in even bytes, 01010101 in odd bytes), and step the temp to 90C and see if the data gets corrupted. the second experiment would be to store a pattern in memory, and with the chip powered off, cycle the temp to 150C, then back to normal and read the pattern to see if it has changed, then continue the cycling, raising the test temp a few degrees each time.

I've programmed microcontrollers that contain EEPROM, and then reflow soldered them at 230 deg C, and the programme remains. Those would have been SO8 packages which are much smaller than DIL 8, so I am fairly sure that the whole IC gets to 220 deg C or so, and still retains the memory.

I would guess that the data would not be retained for very long at those temperatures.

Thanks unclejed!

What i'm going to do is to simulate fire temperatures. So i'll have to heat up the IC's to max 1000 degrees celsius.

this is the content of the research: