Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

How to build a Shocking Device

Status
Not open for further replies.
It needs to be run on a 9 volt Battery and I am a newb and I could use easy instructions.
Ummm It is going to be turned on by a switch and it needs to be small, fitting inside an easy button cap, the size of a AA Battry
any ideas?

Use a camera flash board, without a load and with 2AA batteries, it can generate 1000V+ for a few seconds.

Krumlink said:
Use a camera flash board, without a load and with 2AA batteries, it can generate 1000V+ for a few seconds.
Unless you change the cap value in those disposable camera flash boards you may face liability charges for the potential they could cause to some unsuspecting person. I have had may shocks from them and they pack a real punch, far too much for fun and games.
If I had to choose between the camera flash shock and the 120VAC wall outlet I would find it hard to do except for the fact that I know the wall outlet had the greater potential for injury.

Last edited:
You really need to find a more productive outlet for your energies.

just connect a relay in series with a PBNO switch and a 9 volt battery.
Connect negative to common (on relay), Connect common to ignition coil and ground the other side of the ignition coil.

Place a wire leading to ground near (not touching) the HV output, this is your spark gap, placing an object in between the two connections will cause the object to conduct the HV and therefore cause a shock.