Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Im a complete noob at electronics

Status
Not open for further replies.

JWJR

I know this will be a noob question, i am a noob at electronics and a really noob at transistors. i am trying to wire an activity light into my 360s hard drive. i'm wanting to so that the lights are normally on and turn of when there is activity. so here is what i got so far.**broken link removed**
the 5 volt is my main source and the 2.5volt is a terminal on my hard drive connector that i figure was supposed to be used for an activity light anyways.
so i figured and transistor would be the best way to do it. so i got a N24401 from radio shack, but for the life of me i can not figure out how much of a resistor i should use on the base. could yall please help? ive done basic LED wiring but have never tried anything harder than that. also if yall need for info from me or if there is a better why i could do the circuit. let me know

Thanks

First, you need to put a resistor in series with each LED. The resistor value will be (5V - Vf - Vce_/20mA = (5 - 2.2 - 0.4)/0.02 = 120Ω.

The total collector current Ic will be 4x20mA=80mA. The base current should be about Ic/10, so ~8mA. The source is 2.5V, the Vbe is ~0.6V, so there will be 1.9V across the base resistor, so R = E/I = 1.9/0.008 ≈ 240Ω, or use a 220Ω or 270Ω if that is easier to get.

Last edited: