Ion Nitriding Project... Electronicaly inept I need help....

Status
Not open for further replies.

gm78

Hello,

First a small introduction about myself, I'm a french 40 years old, recently laid of, I used to work in the banking industry in computer science (not one of those how got those fat bonuses, so I'm theoretically one of the good guys....)

I'm reconverting in engineering (a longtime passion of mine) and one of the projects I'm working on requires a nitriding process, since I already have some prior experience in vacuum technology and since I want to keep this process on the environmentally and staff friendly side (ie no ammonia gas or cyanide salts...) I'm going for the go for the ion nitriding hot wall process.

Basically this process consist of heating up a workpiece in a near vacuum (2 to 10 Torr, you can gets this low with only a primary pump like a double stage vane pump, no turbo molecular or diffusion pump needed) in a trace hydrogen and nitrogen atmosphere and establishing a potential between the workpiece (the cathode) and the enclosure (the anode) of 500 to 1000 V DC, this ionizes the nitrogen and propels those ions towards the workpiece where nitrogen diffusion occurs (it's actually a bit more complex, depends on the alloys etc etc...) the big advantage of this process is that it is done at a "low" temperature (anything from 350°C to 650°C depending on the alloy and that this temperature is bellow the phase change temperature of the alloy thus no phase change thus very little distortion, thus little post machining required (which is all for the best since the nitride layer can go up to 78 HRC)

Sorry for the long explanation, I just feel it's only fair to let people understand the big picture.

So her's what I need help with: