IR human body recognition

Status
Not open for further replies.

cosinus

Hi all!
I am a student and as a final project me and my partner are trying to construct a robot which orients in space using ultrasonic sensor and is able to recognize a human with infrared detector.
The question is - where to look for info on this (IR) type of detection? Maybe somebody here dealt with this kind of problem? Which parts to use, how to approach, etc. Any help is appreciated.

.x-posted on All About Circuits forum.

What's your working model of the human IR characteristic? Got any way to tell a human from a chinp? On a warm day, a human may be cooler than the surroundings - how do you deal with that?

PIR sensors don't look at whether it's a hot or cold body they just look at a large rate of change in the temperature of the surroundings. Imaging looking at an image though a thermal imaging camera on a hot day and then someone walks past. The surroundings may be hotter than the human but you'll see a sudden change in the picture and this is how PIRs work.

Actually IIRC the PIR sensor not only senses a change in the temp, but due to its typical lobed pattern it will sense a change anywhere in the viewing area. That is to say that a man starting on one side of the viewing field moving to the other will still trip the sensor, even though the average value of the infrared emissions in the viewing area remains the same.

It cannot detect a nonmoving object. Typically the time constant seems to be set so that changes over more than tens of seconds are filtered out. You can play a fun game where if you walk up to an IR sensor really, REALLY slowly it won't detect you.

PIR seem ill-suited for mobile applications such as robots. Any objects in the room which are hotter or colder than the surroundings may trip the sensor because the sensor is moving, not the object.