LC filter in a design, why not an RC filter?

Status
Not open for further replies.

thunderbird

Hello everyone,

I am an electronics/ICT student trying to learn more about analog design. At my university lots of digitl and DSP is taught, just only basic analog design.

I spotted a schematic online (halfway the page) wondering what the purpose of L1&C3 could be? I suppose it is a low pass filter? But why an inductor instead of a resistor? Something about current?

I was thinking that maybe the spinning of a propellor can induce a current in the measuring circuit? And that is why you have to filter out the higher harmonics?

The fact is when I would design such a thing (or trying to ) I would never come up with this? Unless it does not function at all. And if I would determine influences of harmonics I would build an RC (because we did not learn anything about LC-circuits).

Hope someone can extend my knowledge and broaden my view

Thank you for any input.

An LC filter is far better than an RC one - check the 'slope (Db's per octave) to see the advantages.

As previously stated, the inductor is better, it has a higher reactance at higher frequencies and so the LPF has higher attenuation.
Also the inductor has a very low DC resistance.

Now consider what is happening in that circuit.
It looks as though two digital outputs are being used to provide the power for the ANALOG parts of the circuit.
So, a low DC resistance is important to minimise voltage drop when current flows through the inductor.

I guess that the LPF is there to prevent any high frequency noise for the micro controller getting into the analogue circuits.

JimB

It looks as though he is using two output pins paralleled to provide the Analog power supply to the OPA circuits, I dont see any other Analog supply source.

The L/C is filtering the pins output.

Hello there,