Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Little Gem amp help

Status
Not open for further replies.

jeffz63

Hello,
I am posting this as a new thread because all the one I found on search were old.

I hope someone will help. I have some experience with electronics though this is my first attempt at building a cicuit.
I just got done making the little gem amp and it doesnt work.
I assembled it from the diagrams here...

Little Gems

I am positive that all the components are installed correctly and there are no bridges.
When I turn it on (I added a power switch and LED) the light comes on and there is a pop sound from the speaker and if I turn down the volume pot the pop is more quiet.

I assume the chip is ok.

Any ideas? I would be eternally greatful!
Jeff

The circuit should work fine but its output power is low. It produces a muffled sound (not bright) when its input is from a guitar magnetic pickup because its input impedance is low.
What are you using for the input signal?

The circuit should work fine but its output power is low. It produces a muffled sound (not bright) when its input is from a guitar magnetic pickup because its input impedance is low.
What are you using for the input signal?

I am using this as a guitar amp. The input signal is from a guitar. I was thinking, if the battery is weak would that prevent the amp from working or would there still be some output?
Thanks!

Last edited: