Low voltage steam generator

Status
Not open for further replies.

James Field

Hi all, I'm a complete novice as far as electronics are concerned, but have been railroad modelling for a few years since retirement and want to move up from electric motor power to proper steam powered models but in a small scale (Not 16mm like the garden railways but around 1:32 to 1:24 scale largest). If I use conventional method of gas or meths for raising steam then I run into problems concerning indoor running as far as public displays are concerned so seeing as one manufacturer (Hornby) managed to produce a live steam Loco in OO gauge picking up power from the tracks I would like to emulate the same but have not been able to solicit how they achieved this.
Can anyone advise as to how this is done (or how it could be achieved)? Can low voltage heater elements be capable of raising steam in a boiler? or does it require a special type of generator and if so does anyone know of a UK supplier?
Regards James

you can make "steam" for visual effects (using piezo) with a reasonable amount of electrical power. Boiling water in a boiler to make "live steam" for actually pushing on pistons will take much more power than the rails (transformer) can deliver.

Why do you say that Mike? It might be too much for stock electric railroad power but you could use a higher voltage/current capable transformer to deliver plenty of power, granted you start to run some moderate risk of electrocution or fire if something shorts the tracks out. I doubt you'll find anything off the shelf for this kind of thing though.