Metal / Plastics Work

Status
Not open for further replies.

DigiTan

I need a custom gearbox for this upcoming project and because of the torque involved, I'm certain they need to be aluminum or steel components. Preferably aluminum.

The problem is I don't have any metal shop equipment or access to said machines. I knew this guy who used to design small aluminum brackets, then send the designs to China and have them shipped back in bulk. But I have no experience drawing mechanical blueprints.

* What are a few good companies to order aluminum or plastic part designs from?
* What form do they send the design in? Is there some kind of industry-standard CAD program?
* What if your design has missing information? Does anyone warn you?
* How do they charge? Is it by dimensions or number of cuts?

A gearbox is about the hardest common place mechanical item to design/make. It takes expert skill to make one and designing one as your first venture into drawing blueprints is similar to starting out by designing an FPGA board and programming it as your first project. I can guarantee you that your design will fail when you get it back (similar to PCBs!)...and it will cost a lot more than PCBs.

There is no set way in how they charge you. It depends on the material, how easy it is to machine, and what exactly you want done to it, and how much machining you want done to it, and how much material needs to be machined. It's all over the place.

CAD programs are also not free (ones that can design things like gearboxes anyways). Downright through-the-roof expensive I would say. Just like OrCAD or Altium eMachineshop is the only one I know of with free CAD that is permanently linked to their service and no other (like PCBExpress...or was it EXpressPCB?), but I'm not sure you can design something like a gearbox with it.