Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Mosfet as volume control

Status
Not open for further replies.

westhomas

hello all,

I'd like to use a mosfet to control the signal from say a 555 astable oscillator as it is fed out to an amplifier (like your standard guitar amp). I've never used a mosfet before but it seems like the appropriate component for the task.

The signal from the sensor (which is a Sharp IR proximity sensor) is about 1 to 3 VDC. I would like the output to be 0 when the gate voltage is 1, so one of my questions is whether I need to modify the sensor output before it reaches the gate.

My other question is whether this will work - IRF530N even though it's way above the ratings I need.

Here's a very basic sketch...

much thanks

Attachments

• mosfet gate.jpg
    mosfet gate.jpg
    54.3 KB · Views: 1,086
I think what you are asking is "can I use a MOSFET as an amplifier that I can control with an external voltage". The answer is yes but it's pretty complex as you need to operate the MOSFET in it's linear region. Horowitz and Hill (Art of Electronics) have a discussion on this point but it's a little hazy to me now. I believe that MOSFET manufacturing variances make this a tricky issue.

Sorry, but life isn't that simple.

Ouch. Yes....life is horribly complex isn't it. But in principle what I've illustrated could work, but it needs to be articulated. Maybe it won't work at all. I'm not an idiot, I'm simply new to electronics and teaching myself.