Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Need help modifying treadmill.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mipoleon

This is my first time trying any kind of circuitry so I am very much a novice but here is what I am trying to do. I am rewiring my treadmill into a computer keyboard so that when someone moves on the treadmill hit hits the move key on the keyboard for a video game that I play.

Here is what I have so far.

I have a switched that is triggered by a magnet on the conveyor part of the tread mill so that with ever rotation it triggers the switch. The switch is wired into the keyboard so that it closes the circut to the specified key sending a key pressed signal to the computer.

Here is my problem.

Since it sends the signal each time the magnet passes the character in the game moves ackwardly. I put a few more magnets on the conveyor part which seemed to help but if the convey stops in front of the switch the character keeps running. So what I think I need is to some how wire it so that it sends a continual signal to the computer as long as the magnetic switch is being tripped. (As long as the conveyor is moving.) And stops sending the signal when they conveyor stops.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Mipoleon said:
Does any one have any kind of suggestion at all for me?
I think the solution may be simple, but your description is not clear. Have someone you know read it and see if they can point out the confusing parts (or maybe it's just me).