Need help with Frequency counter design

Status
Not open for further replies.

matrix3297

I am a student and I need a frequency counter design by thursday of this week. I have the displays wired with MAN74 7-segment displays being run by two 4511s and the decade counters are 4029s. I also have a 555 timer pulsing to show a count on the displays. I need to be able to read 5 different frequency ranges and don't really know how I'm going to do it. If anyone could help I would appreciate it.

As you know frequency is measured as number of cycles per second. Generally to measure the frequency the signal if passed to though a switch for pre-determined time and number of clock cycles are counted in that time slot. For example if you enable a switch for 1 second your counter will provide the exact frequency of the input waveform.

There are different ways to achieve this for example you can use that AND gate as switch, connect one input of the AND gate to input single and other input should be made high for 1 second. When one input of the AND gate is high its output depends on the state of the other input. Thus if you enable it for 1 second input signal will be available on its output for 1 second and you can feed it to the counters.

Some things you need to consider here:

1. When you want to measure high frequency you have to reduce the time for which gate is enabled otherwise your counters will overflow. For example enable it for 1 ms and your display will show frequency as KHz.
2. When you want to measure low frequency you have to increase the time for which gate is enabled. For example if you want to measure 0.5 Hz you will not see any clock transition in 1 second so at least you have to enable it for 2 seconds.
3. If your input signal is not square wave or not of sufficient amplitude you need to do the signal condition and amplification. This can be done with the help of Schmitt Triggers and Op-Amps.

I hope it will be helpful.

Need help with frequency counter