New to soldering, need to fix my 9800 Pro video card

Status
Not open for further replies.

sam316

I have the exact same problem as the one mentioned in this thread: https://www.electro-tech-online.com/threads/can-u-help-me-on-rf-based-identification-system.6410/

I ordered two FDS6912's and should have them by friday. Now, the hard part: I have no soldering experience whatsoever. On the upside, I've been building computers for the last 4 years so Im not a total novice. I was wondering if you guys have any suggestions on the best way to solder this component.

btw, you guys have a fantastic forum, very informative and newbie friendly :wink:

Well, what I would do for this part (SOIC8 right?) is first remove the solder from the pads on the board. You can use solder-wick for this. The I would clean the pads thoroughly. Then I would lay down the SOIC (make sure you know which way round so its not rotated) and solder opposing corner pins. I use tweezers to hold the part in place while I tack down opposing corners. After the corner pins on soldered, the part should be in place firm so then finish the pins. After soldering, clean up the flux residue with appropriate cleaner (i.e. water for water soluable, or other flux remover) When you're done, if the board is wet from cleaning, let it dry for a long time before powering it up.

Tip: Use magnifier to verify that all joints look good and touch up ones that are bad/iffy.

Tip: Dont use too much solder! The SOIC8 and pads do not need alot to make a good joint so only a small amount is needed. If you use too much, you'll make a mess of the place and / or short pins or other compenents.

Thanks for the fast reply. Do you recommend a certain brand/specification of soldering iron? I know there are different thicknesses, what is the best thickness for this type of job?

sam316 said: