Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

newbie transformer question

Status
Not open for further replies.

cwats

hey guys,
was playing around with some solenoids (as in the picture) and found that as the core is passed from left to right through the transformer the output voltage is increased. Can anybody tell me why?

As mentioned I am a real newbie, and I hope not to waste your time with what could be a really dumb question

Any answer is appreciated. thanks

The magnetic flux produced by the first winding is passed to the core.
The core passes the magnetic flux to the other coil.

thanks,
I understand about induced currents and what-not, but why does the out put voltage increase as the core is moved further though the transformer? Maximum output voltage is achieved when only 60mm of the core is in the primary coil (each coil is 150mm long). I can upload a graph showing the relationship if that would be of any help.

In your photo example, you're inducing flux into the entire core length, most of which is outside of the coil(s), thus being "wasted" or "lost" or "not used" (no conductors to induce current into).

Were you to use a core rod of 300mm, you would see max secondary output with the core flush at each end of the transformer.

thank,