Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Noob here. Need advise on car electronics.

Status
Not open for further replies.

agentk98

Hi! I need your help on some things i would like to do in my car. I tried trying to calculate the stuff needed but got lost in the process. Here are my projects:

Project 1. DR Light / Blinker
I installed a fender light on my car. I would like it to turn on with the Daytime Running Light (a little bit dimmed) but still function as a blinker (bright). I was suggested this schematic: (The left one)
**broken link removed**
The voltage source is the car alternator: 12v-14v
The load is a 12v/5w bulb

1. Is a 1N4001 Diode ok?
2. I initially used three 5w/10Ω ceramic resistors in series. They got too hot to touch. What would be a better one?

Project 2. LEDs
I have a couple of super bright blue LEDs that i got from an automotive store. They are supposedly plug and play. (no resistor) Though i'm sure a resistor will help prolong its life. The box had no information available as to its forward voltage, etc. What would be a good guess resistor value?

Thanks in advance!
Ken

there's ton of way to do what you want.. The most common solution wich doesn't need extra parts is:
one side of your lamp to the Parking wire, the other one to the Flasher wire. most car will acept this without problem.

Thanks, but would prefer to have them light in-sync. And they need to be dimmed as the socket can't stand the heat of being "always-on".