Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Obtaining a "good" square wave for high frequency

Status
Not open for further replies.

ijuset

Hi.
First of all I'm new to electro-tech online and glad to find such an active place for electronics. Thus let me introduce myself too, I'm a 3rd year university student in Ankara/Turkey and nowadays doing summer practice.
Moving on.

In my project i am building a system about wireless energy transfer through induction. The algorithm is

1)Obtain a square waveforum from DC source using Timer555. (0 / 5v, 400KHz)
2)Invert (using NOR gate or opamp) the square to have high ripple (-5v / 5v) Than using logic gates (1 Buffer and 1 NOT gate) seperate those.
3)Connect those two outputs to the inputs of an H-Bridge to obtain high currents.
4)Excite the coil using the output of the H-Bridge.

It is pretty straightforward but since the square wave is not perfect, the H - Bridge inputs are both "high" for a little interval but since the working frequncy is so high, the circuit endures 2-3 Amperes of current. (shortly the second part is the main problem)

I tried using a comparator which is built by 2 LM311 opamps for obtaining 2 distinct signals but i failed.
I thought of using a PIC but i am not so good at it and passed that option.

I dont have the photos right now but have some links similar to my design.

H-Bridge: http://www.armory.com/~rstevew/Public/Motors/H-Bridges/Blanchard/figure-1.htm

Voltage Comparator: **broken link removed**

Thank you.