PIC Board problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

WizzBall

Hello everyone!

I am relatively new to the PIC world (having previously dealt only with the dsPIC30F/33F family) and I recently acquired a development board from Futurlec.com in order to do some PIC development [https://futurlec.com/PIC18F4550_Board.shtml]. Because the PIC18F4550 has a USB interface, this board is supposed to have the capability of programming the PIC directly, using only the USB connection between my PC and the board and as such this board is supposed to be 'ready to run' out of the box.

To my surprise, there was no programming software for this board on the CD and nothing else except a flimsy 'manual' (attached) and a few demo hex files. I managed to get the board recognized under Windows XP and have the Microchip USB drivers installed (see picture), however I failed so far in loading a hex file to the PIC (using WinPic800 and PICPgm). I am assuming the USB bootloader must have been loaded onto the PIC otherwise Windows wouldn't have recognized the board.

Upon reading the manual I was informed that the way to program the board was through a dedicated programmer using the ICD2 connector on the board. So much for ready to run out of the box...

I contacted the company, but it's been two days and no reply and I am not even sure if/when I'll get one (they don't have a phone number and when I tried to send an email to their dedicated technical@futurlec.com the email came back as the mailbox was full!).

So as you can imagine I am looking at the prospect of either solving this somehow on my own or with your help or having to spend another $50 to get a programmer. Does anyone have some idea as to what I could try to get this going?

Thank you for taking the time to read this!

Attachments

• ET-PIC USB 4550_Eng.pdf
    2 MB · Views: 846
  • PICUSB.jpg
    54.4 KB · Views: 272
Hi,

Bit surprsied no one has replied to you yet ..