Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

please help with a project

Status
Not open for further replies.
hello, im in 4th year university and have some questions about a project i was assigned. my objective is to provide electricity using a NiCd cell at 2kW for 4 hours a day. The power required is 110V AC steady-state.

I have decided to use a 10 cell stack, each NiCd cell being 1.2V, giving 12V DC total. Then use a DC-AC converter to give 110V AC. Does this make sense? Do i need a transformer? I can't find a voltage-current curve anywhere to use, so i dont know what current i should run it at. I'm also not sure how to find how much heat is produced (kJ), and the total energy used (kW).

I am then asked to size the NiCd cell come up with a block diagram of how it works.

can anyone give me advice on how to design the cell? i just have to design it on paper, not actually make a cell. i'd greatly appreciate any help. thanks

OmG, good luck!

universitystudent said:
I'm also not sure how to find how much heat is produced (kJ), and the total energy used (kW).

I'm sure you'll find the answers for those questions in your High-School Physics book!

2000 watts of energy, for 4 hours is 8000 watts ... unless your dimension is goverened by a different set of physics from mine, there is no way you'll get 8kW out of 10 nicd batteries