Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

please help

Status
Not open for further replies.

blindpanda

I'm a newbie just incase you couldnt tell.. anyway. Okay, so I just bought a moisture detector kit. It runs fine, got it all soldered together, perfect. I took two leads coming from the low moisture LED. I have a 12V pump I want to run off these leads (I do have the 12v battery also), but obviously the LED is something like 2V. So i've been looking around, and I've found ideas, and here I'll go with them. Keep in mind, I'm open to makeshift type setups.

1) A put a CDS right near the low moisture LED. I don't know the details of this, but it would have to be something like 12V resistance closed and no resistance open? This is very makeshift, and I don't even know what CDS I would use, once again I'm a newbie.

2) A relay. I have no clue what they do, I know how they work, but I don't know what the SPDT and RFQX2 or whatever that stuff means. It seems to be the better option, but I'm clueless to it.

3) A solenoid and a push button switch. Sadly enough for me, I can't find a solenoid that is 2V.

Please feel very free to ask me any questions, I need help. I know some electronics, but not alot. I can follow a schematic, so that could be helpfull.

I know this entire post shows my ignorance toward the subject, but low money is forcing me to make this instead of buy.

THANKS A TON!!! in advance.

Products I bought:
https://www.goldmine-elec-products.com/prodinfo.asp?number=G15563