Power Operational Amplifier LM675

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jony130

Hi
If I want to build a unity gain non-inverting amplifier using LM675
https://www.electro-tech-online.com/custompdfs/2012/11/lm675.pdf (figure 4 page 7)
Data sheet tells me that unit gain bandwidth is equal to 50KHz

So can I change the unit gain bandwidth by selecting/changing op amp noise gain?
Or simply unit gain bandwidth is constant and equal to 50KHz. And all this additional component are needed because LM675 is not unity gain stable amplifier and this component don't have any effect on unit gain bandwidth.

I'm not an expert in op-amps, but I know a bit. I'll chime in with what I do know if nothing more than just to kill some time.

As far as I know, most op-amps have in them a bypass capacitor that is more and more closed circuit to higher and higher frequency's. It's a high pass element is intended to tune them to be more linear for all frequency's. Again, just to stress this point, that part is internal to the IC and can not be changed.

That being said, looking at the schematic, R[SUB]1[/SUB] and C appear to form just such a high pass element from the (+) input to the (-) input. If my assumption is correct then you may just be able to raise R[SUB]1[/SUB] or lower C to increase the frequency limit. HOWEVER. . . Those parts could be there to promote stability. Meaning that if you change them a significant amount the thing may oscillate and/or draw massive amounts of power.

Bottom line, IMO the manufacturers schematic most likely give you as much room as the thing can safely and accurately amplify, as that should be win-win for all party's. But you should wait for one of our wise elders to confirm this before you start chopping things up... OK?

Edit: I just realized that the before mentioned parts may mess with phase, making my hypothesis about them less likely.

Last edited:
Hi Joni,